Explore the Decade

Department of Environment

Regional Council of Guadeloupe

Ocean Policy & Sustainable Development


Contact Number


Email Address



Rue Paul Lacave
Basse-Terre GLP

The Regional Council of Guadeloupe has 41 Regional Councilors, who are elected to 6-year terms on a party ticket based on proportional representation. Since 2015 the Region of Guadeloupe has been presided over by Ary Chalus. By virtue of the act of decentralization, which granted operational autonomy to regional assemblies and expanded their authority, Guadeloupe assumed full powers as a partly autonomous region on February 20, 1983. Article 59 of the Law of 1982 strictly defines the scope of regional councils: to promote the economic, social, medical, cultural, and scientific development of their territories and ensure the preservation of their identities, while respecting the integrity, autonomy, and jurisdiction of French departments and communes. The law on the New Territorial Organisation of the Republic (NOTRe), promulgated on 7 August 2015, confers new competences on the Regions and redefines the competences attributed to each local government. Some areas of competence are exclusive to the regional government: - economic development and innovation - management of European programmes - vocational training, apprenticeships and work-study programmes - secondary and higher education - land use planning and the environment - transport The regional government shares certain competences with other authorities: - tourism - culture - sport - promotion of regional languages - adult education - fight against the digital divide, and digital development

Recent Activity