المجلس الاستشاري للعقد

والمجلس الاستشاري للعقد هو هيئة استشارية للجنة الأوقيانوغرافية الحكومية الدولية التابعة لليونسكو، وهي هيئة الأمم المتحدة المكلفة بتنسيق عقد المحيطات، وستقدم المشورة الاستراتيجية بشأن تنفيذ العقد. ويتم اختيار الأعضاء لمدة سنتين ويعملون بصفتهم الفردية.

وسيقدم المجلس الاستشاري للعقد توصيات بشأن إقرار البرامج والمراكز التعاونية للعقد، وسيتعلق بالأداء الموحد لإجراءات عقد المحيطات. وسيسهم أعضاء المجلس أيضا في تقييم الاحتياجات من الموارد اللازمة لإجراءات عقد المحيطات وزيادة الوعي بشأن عقد المحيطات، بما في ذلك مع مقدمي الموارد المحتملين.

الخبراء الخمسة عشر الذين اختارتهم اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية واليونسكو للفترة 2022-2023، ينحدرون من ثلاثة عشر بلدا، من الحكومة والقطاع الخاص والأعمال الخيرية والمجتمع المدني والمجتمع العلمي.

يشغل البروفيسور كواديو أفيان منصب نائب رئيس الجامعة فيليكس هوفويت-بويني (كوت ديفوار) المسؤول عن التدريب والبحث منذ عام 2012. وقبل ذلك، كان مدير مركز الاستشعار عن بعد للبحوث التطبيقية، وكذلك مدير كلية الدراسات العليا الأفريقية للاستشعار عن بعد (1999-2010) في جامعة كوكود، قبل أن يصبح عميدا لكلية علوم الأرض (2010-2012). وقد عمل البروفيسور أفيان في العديد من الهيئات واللجان الوطنية؛ وعلى المستوى الدولي، شارك بانتظام في اليونسكو وهيئات اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية واليونسكو منذ عام 2005 - وكان آخرها تعيينه رئيسا للجنة الأولمبية الدولية في عام 2021. لديه أكثر من 80 منشورا له ، مع التركيز من بين أمور أخرى على تطوير الإدارة المتكاملة للمناطق الساحلية ، وتآكل السواحل ، ودرجة حرارة سطح البحر ، ولون البحر ، وقياس الأعماق ، ودراسات البيئة القائمة على الاستشعار عن بعد ونظم المعلومات الجغرافية. البروفيسور أفيان حاصل على شهادات في البيولوجيا البحرية والاستشعار عن بعد تنطبق على علم المحيطات.

 

الدكتورة فريدا ماريا أرماس- فيرتر أستاذة القانون الدولي العام وقانون البحار في جامعة بوينس آيرس وفي جامعة أوسترال (الأرجنتين). وهي أيضا موفقة ومحكمة في نظام تسوية المنازعات في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لقانون البحار منذ عام 2009. ومنذ عام 2001، عملت خبيرة في السلطة الدولية لقاع البحار وشغلت مناصب مختلفة. وهي تعمل منذ عام 1997 كمنسق عام للجنة الوطنية الأرجنتينية المعنية بالحد الخارجي للجرف القاري، حيث قادت أكثر من ستين من المهنيين المسؤولين عن العمل العلمي والقانوني لترسيم الحدود الخارجية للجرف القاري الأرجنتيني. لهذا العمل، حصلت على "السيناتور دومينغو فاوستينو سارمينتو" تنويه مشرف من مجلس الشيوخ الأرجنتيني (2016). وهي مؤلفة للعديد من المقالات والكتب عن القانون الدولي وقانون البحار.

 

الدكتور تاماتو بامبريدج هو مدير أبحاث في المركز الوطني للبحوث العلمية (CNRS) يعمل في مختبر البيولوجيا البحرية في مورا (بولينيزيا الفرنسية) منذ عام 2007. كما يدرس في المدرسة العليا للدراسات العليا في جامعة بولينيزيا الفرنسية وجامعة كاليدونيا الجديدة على مستوى الماجستير في البحوث. يركز بحثه الأساسي الحالي على التقاطع بين التنوع البيولوجي والثقافة واللغات والعوامل التي تؤثر على المرونة والحوكمة الهجينة. كما أنه يستخدم أدوات مثل النمذجة ومشاركة الفاعل لتوضيح الاستراتيجيات الصريحة مكانيا على البحيرة والشعاب المرجانية. إن التزام تاماتوا على المدى الطويل بفهم الإدارة التقليدية البولينيزية للموارد يؤدي إلى نشر "الراهوي" في عام 2016. وهو رئيس اللجنة العلمية لمحمية اليونسكو للمان وBiospere في فاجارافا في أرخبيل تواموتو.

 

الدكتورة سيلفيا شاكون بارانتس أستاذة في قسم الفيزياء في الجامعة الوطنية في كوستاريكا. وهي منسقة ومؤسسة برنامج SINAMOT (الذي يعمل كمركز وطني للإنذار بأمواج تسونامي في كوستاريكا) وكانت جهة الاتصال الوطنية لتسونامي في البلاد منذ عام 2015. وقد شاركت منذ عام 2014 في برنامج تسونامي بين اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية واليونسكو كرئيسة للفريق العامل الإقليمي لأمريكا الوسطى التابع للجنة الدولية المعنية بمكافحة التسونامي/PTWS (2017-2021) ورئيسة الفريق ICG/CARIBE-EWS (2018-2022). وهي تقود مشروعا لوضع خرائط لإجلاء ضحايا تسونامي في كوستاريكا وعلى الصعيد الدولي وقادت الاعتراف الجاهز بأمواج تسونامي لأربعة مجتمعات محلية في كوستاريكا. وقد اعترفت بها مجلة فوربس كواحدة من أقوى 100 امرأة في أمريكا الوسطى لل2019 و2020 و2021. وهي حاصلة على درجة الدكتوراه في العلوم الجيولوجية الساحلية من جامعة كيل (ألمانيا)، ودرجة الماجستير في علم المحيطات الفيزيائية من CICESE (المكسيك) ودرجة البكالوريوس في الفيزياء من جامعة كوستاريكا.

 

البروفيسور داتو د. كما عملت أيني حاجي مختار في القطاع العام والأكاديمي منذ عام 1980، وساهمت بشكل كبير في التعليم العالي وبناء القدرات الوطنية في ماليزيا. تعمل كأكاديمية في جامعة تكنولوجي ماليزيا لأكثر من 30 عاما، حيث تقوم بتدريس وحمل الأبحاث في الفيزياء والهيدروليكية والنمذجة الفيزيائية وإدارة البيانات والهندسة الساحلية والبيئية ودراسات السياسات. وشغلت منصب مديرة ووكيلة في المديرية الوطنية لعلوم المحيطات، وزارة تكنولوجيا العلوم والابتكار في 2008-2014، وكانت مسؤولة عن إنشاء المركز الوطني الماليزي للبيانات الأوقيانوغرافية. كما شاركت آيني في اللجنة الفرعية لغرب المحيط الهادئ التابعة للجنة الأولمبية الدولية واليونسكو واخترعت نظاما حاصلا على براءة اختراع لحماية السواحل: سين سلاب. كما يحمل أيني درجة البكالوريوس من جامعة بنغهامتون (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)، ودرجة الماجستير من كلية جامعة سوانسي (المملكة المتحدة)، ودرجة الدكتوراه من جامعة تكنولوجي ماليزيا.

 

فيدار هيلجيسين هو المدير التنفيذي لمؤسسة نوبل في ستوكهولم، السويد. وهو محام دولي من خلال التدريب، وشغل عدة مناصب عامة في الحكومة النرويجية، كان آخرها منصب الممثل الخاص للمحيط. وقاد مجموعة شيرباس للفريق الرفيع المستوى لاقتصاد المحيطات المستدام 2018-2020. وقد عمل وزيرا للمناخ والبيئة، ووزيرا للشؤون الأوروبية ورئيسا لموظفي رئيس الوزراء، فضلا عن نائب وزير الخارجية. وقد شغل منصب الرئيس المشارك للمجلس الصيني للتعاون الدولي في مجال البيئة والتنمية، والأمين العام للمعهد الدولي للديمقراطية والمساعدة الانتخابية، والمستشار الخاص لرئيس الاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر. وهو عضو مجلس إدارة مركز سيسيرو لأبحاث المناخ الدولية، نورفند وC4IR المحيط.

 

البروفيسور جدعون هندرسون هو كبير المستشارين العلميين في وزارة البيئة والأغذية والشؤون الريفية (ديفرا، المملكة المتحدة)، وهو مسؤول عن الإشراف على جودة الأدلة التي تعتمد عليها الوزارة في اتخاذ القرارات المتعلقة بالسياسات. كما يقدم للوزراء المشورة العلمية ويحدد أولويات البحث العلمي وجمع الأدلة. وهو أستاذ علوم الأرض في قسم علوم الأرض في جامعة أكسفورد منذ عام 2006. وهو أيضا زميل أبحاث أقدم في كلية جامعة أكسفورد وعالم أبحاث مشارك مساعد في مرصد لامونت دوهرتي للأرض في جامعة كولومبيا. وتشمل جوائزه ميدالية بليموث السنوية الثلاثين لعلوم البحار لعام 2016، وجائزة الاتحاد الأوروبي للعلوم الجيولوجية المتميزة للعالمين الشباب في عام 2001، وزمالة جائزة ليفرهولم في عام 2001. وفي عام 2013، انتخب زميلا للجمعية الملكية.

 

شارلوت هدسون هي مديرة مشروع برنامج لينفيست للمحيطات، وهو برنامج علمي لتقديم المنح مقره في صناديق بيو الخيرية (واشنطن، D.C، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)، يمول مشاريع بحثية تلبي احتياجات أصحاب المصلحة البحريين والساحليين ويدعم المستفيدين من المنح للتفاعل مع الأشخاص الأكثر احتمالا لاستخدام النتائج. وهي مسؤولة عن تحديد مجالات البحث المواضيعية والإشراف على تصميم وتنفيذ المشاريع البحثية التي تشمل المشاركة الهادفة مع أولئك الذين قد يستخدمون البحث. كما تشرف على المشاركة في نتائج البحوث والتواصل معها بطرق تسترشد بها القرارات المتعلقة بالسياسات وتعزز الإدارة المستدامة للمحيطات. شارك هدسون في تأليف العديد من الأوراق حول دور العلم والعمل الخيري والسياسة في صنع القرار. حصلت على درجة البكالوريوس في علم الأحياء من كلية ديفيدسون ودرجة الماجستير في الإدارة البيئية من كلية نيكولاس للبيئة في جامعة ديوك.

 

الدكتور جيمس جيتوندو كايرو هو زميل بيو (2019) وكبير العلماء في معهد كينيا لأبحاث البحار ومصايد الأسماك، حيث يرأس فريقا متخصصا يعمل على أشجار المانغروف والنظام البيئي الكربوني الأزرق المرتبط بها. كايرو عضو في الفريق العامل العلمي الدولي المعني بالكربون الأزرق (مبادرة الكربون الأزرق) وعمل بوصفه المؤلف الرئيسي المنسق للتقرير الخاص للفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ بشأن المحيطات والغلاف الجليدي في مناخ متغير.

 

الدكتورة مارغريت لينن هي مديرة معهد سكريبس لعلوم المحيطات ونائبة رئيس الجامعة لعلوم البحار في جامعة كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية). وهي عالمة كيمياء حيوية في المحيطات وعالمة حفريات تتضمن أبحاثها دراسة ركوب الدراجات الكربونية في المحيطات ودور المحيطات في المناخ. وشغلت منصب المدير المساعد للعلوم الجيولوجية، المؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم في الولايات المتحدة في الفترة من 2000 إلى 2007. وأثناء وجوده هناك، شارك لينين في رئاسة اللجنة الفرعية الافتتاحية لعلوم وتكنولوجيا المحيطات، وكان رئيسا ونائبا لرئيس برنامج أبحاث التغير العالمي في الولايات المتحدة. وخلال العامين 2017 و2018، كانت مبعوثة للعلوم في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية للمحيطات إلى أمريكا اللاتينية والمحيط الهادئ. وعلى الصعيد الدولي، عملت في العديد من المجالس واللجان الاستشارية العلمية. وشغلت منصب رئيسة الاتحاد الجيوفيزيائي الأمريكي، ورئيسة جمعية علوم المحيطات، ورئيسة قسم علوم الغلاف الجوي والهيدروسفير في الجمعية الأمريكية للعلوم.

 

أنجيليك بوبونو محامية (سيشيل والمملكة المتحدة). وهي حاصلة على كلية الحقوق في القانون البيئي؛ متخصصة في قانون البحار وقانون الموارد الطبيعية. أنجيليك هي أيضا مفاوضة مدربة في مجال تغير المناخ في إطار برنامج زمالة AOSIS لتغير المناخ في الأمم المتحدة. وقد عملت في بلدان مختلفة في منطقة البحر الكاريبي والمحيط الهادئ والمحيط الهندي في مجموعة واسعة من المشاريع المتعلقة بمصائد الأسماك المستدامة، والإدارة المستدامة للتنوع البيولوجي البحري داخل وخارج الولاية الوطنية، وتغير المناخ، ولا سيما التكيف مع المناخ وتمويل المناخ. وعلاوة على ذلك، عملت خبيرة قانونية في المجموعة الأفريقية للجنة السادسة في أعمال المحيطات وقانون البحار في الأمم المتحدة. وعلاوة على ذلك، تتمتع أنجيليك بخبرة في العمل مع المجتمع المدني كمؤسس مشارك وعضو مجلس إدارة للمنظمات غير الربحية في سيشيل وخارجها.

 

الدكتورة بنت بريتلوف هي مديرة برنامج الفضاء المحيطي في DNV (النرويج). وفي هذا الدور، تدير الجهود البحثية التي تبذلها شركة DNV فيما يتعلق بالتنمية المستدامة للصناعات القائمة على المحيطات. تمتلك بينتي خبرة تزيد عن 20 عاما في مجال تغير المناخ والاستدامة والإدارة البيئية إلى جانب التكنولوجيا والابتكار. وهي تركز على التفكير المنهجي والتعاون بين التخصصات وتعمل في كثير من الأحيان في التفاعل بين البحث والصناعة. وقد شغلت أدوارا قيادية وشاركت بشكل وثيق مع مختلف قطاعات الصناعة: المنظمات غير الحكومية ومنظمات الأمم المتحدة والحكومات. وهي تعمل كخبيرة وممثلة للصناعة في عدد من المنظمات واللجان المختلفة. ومن بين أمور أخرى، هي عضو معين في اللجنة الوطنية النرويجية لعقد المحيطات ونائب رئيس للنمو الأزرق في منصة التكنولوجيا المنقولة بالمياه في الاتحاد الأوروبي. بينتي هي أيضا ممثلة DNV في تحالف الإشراف على المحيطات التابع للأمم المتحدة (UNGC).

 

الدكتور فانغلي تشياو،أكاديمي في الأكاديمية الدولية الأوراسية للعلوم ورئيس تحرير نمذجة المحيطات، هو أستاذ كرسي علوم المحيطات الفيزيائية ونائب المدير العام للمعهد الأول لعلوم المحيطات (FIO)، وزارة الموارد الطبيعية في الصين. وتغطي اهتماماته البحثية تطوير نماذج المحيطات والمناخ، وديناميات المحيطات، والاضطرابات، والتفاعل بين الجو والبحر. أنشأ نظرية الاختلاط غير المفتوحة الناجمة عن الموجات السطحية (Bv) واكتشف آلية توليد BV من خلال التفاعل بين الموجات والاضطرابات. وقد طور أول جيل جديد على الإطلاق من نموذج المحيطات المد والجزر السطحي المقترن بالكامل (FIO-COM) وكذلك نموذج الإعصار/الإعصار المقترن بموجات الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات (FIO-AOW). وكان الدكتور تشياو عضوا في فريق التخطيط التنفيذي لعقد المحيطات ثم المجلس الاستشاري للعقد؛ وهو أيضا الرئيس المشارك للجنة الاولمبية الدولية / WESTPAC. وقد حصل على العديد من الجوائز الأكاديمية ولديه أكثر من 380 منشورا في المجلات العلمية لاستعراض النظراء.

 

الدكتورة كاتي صابوني هي منسقة مركز مجتمع المحيط الهادئ لعلوم المحيطات في مجتمع المحيط الهادئ (SPC، كاليدونيا الجديدة). وقبل ذلك، كانت مديرة مركز بحوث المنتجات الطبيعية في المحيط الهادئ في جامعة جنوب المحيط الهادئ في فيجي. وعملت مع حكومات جزر المحيط الهادئ للمساعدة في وضع مبادئ توجيهية وسياسات بشأن الحصول وتقاسم المنافع. كاتي هي مستشارة في مجال الموارد الوراثية البحرية التي تدعم البلدان الجزرية في المحيط الهادئ بشأن التنوع البيولوجي البحري في المناطق الخارجة عن الولاية الوطنية في الأمم المتحدة. كاتي متحمسة لتطوير قدرة المهنيين في وقت مبكر المحيطات الوظيفي ونشطة أيضا على مستوى المجتمع. كاتي حاصلة على درجة البكالوريوس من جامعة جنوب المحيطات، ودرجة الماجستير من جامعة سيدني، أستراليا، والدكتوراه من جامعة إيست أنجليا، المملكة المتحدة. ترعرعت في جزيرة ريندوفا، جزر سليمان.

 

الدكتور ألكسندر تورا هو أستاذ في المعهد الأوقيانوغرافي بجامعة ساو باولو (IOUSP، البرازيل) ومنسق كرسي اليونسكو المعني باستدامة المحيطات، ومقره في معهد الأوقيانوغرافيا ومعهد الدراسات المتقدمة في جامعة ساو باولو. وهو عالم أحياء يمارس أبحاثا متعددة التخصصات ومتكاملة، مع التركيز على مواضيع مثل التنوع البيولوجي البحري، والحوكمة، والإدارة المتكاملة، وحفظ البيئة، وتقييم الأثر البيئي، وتغير المناخ، والتلوث البحري (القمامة البحرية). وتسعى تورا إلى تعزيز التكامل بين العلم والمجتمع وصانعي السياسات والقطاع الخاص لدعم السياسات العامة والتنمية التكنولوجية والابتكار المطبق على المحيط.

 
 

هل ترغب في التفاعل مع الخبراء المشاركين في عقد المحيطات؟

Decade Advisory Board

The Decade Advisory Board is an advisory body to UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), the UN body tasked with coordinating the Ocean Decade, that will provide strategic advice on Decade implementation. Members are selected for a period of two years and serve in their individual capacities.

The Decade Advisory Board will provide recommendations on the endorsement of programmes and Decade Collaborative Centres and comment on the consolidated performance of Ocean Decade Actions. Board members will also contribute to the assessment of resource requirements for Ocean Decade Actions and raise awareness about the Ocean Decade, including with potential resource providers.

The fifteen experts selected by the IOC-UNESCO for the period 2022-2023, hailing from thirteen countries, come from government, private sector, philanthropy, civil society and the scientific community.

Professor Kouadio Affian has been Vice-President of the University Felix Houphouet-Boigny (Côte d’Ivoire) in charge of training and research since 2012. Before that, he was Director of the Remote Sensing Center for Applied Research as well as Director of postgraduate African school of Remote Sensing (1999-2010) at the University of Cocody, before becoming Dean of the school of Earth Sciences (2010-2012). Prof. Affian has served on numerous national bodies and committees; at international level, he has regularly taken part in UNESCO and IOC-UNESCO bodies since 2005 – most recently, he was named Chair of IOCAFRICA in 2021. He has more than 80 publications to his credit, focusing among others on the development of integrated coastal zone management, coastal erosion, sea surface temperature, sea color, bathymetry and environment studies based on remote sensing and GIS. Prof. Affian has degrees in marine biology and remote sensing applied to oceanography.

 

Dr. Frida Maria Armas-Pfirter is Professor of Public International Law and Law of the Sea at the University of Buenos Aires and at Austral University (Argentina). She is also a conciliator and arbitrator of the UNCLOS dispute settlement system since 2009. Since 2001, she has served as an expert at the International Seabed Authority and held various positions. She has been the General Coordinator of the Argentine National Commission on the Outer Limit of the Continental Shelf (COPLA) since 1997, leading more than sixty professionals in charge of the scientific and legal work for the demarcation of the outer limit of the Argentine continental shelf. For this work, she was awarded the “Senator Domingo Faustino Sarmiento” Honorable Mention by the Argentine Senate (2016). She is the author of numerous articles and books on international law and law of the sea.

 

Dr. Tamatoa Bambridge is a research director at the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) working in a laboratory of marine biology in Moorea (French Polynesia) since 2007. He also teaches at the Ecole Pratiques des Hautes Etudes (EPHE), at the University of French Polynesia and the University of New Caledonia at research master level. His current primary research focuses on the intersection between biodiversity, culture, and languages and the factors influencing resilience and hybrid governance. He also uses tools such as modelisation and actor participation for elucidating spatially explicit strategies on lagoon and reefs. Tamatoa’s long-term commitment to the understanding of Polynesian traditional management of resources lead to the publication of “The Rāhui” in 2016. He is the president of the scientific committee of the UNESCO Man and Biospere reserve of Fakarava in the Tuamotu Archipelago.

 

Dr.rer.nat. Silvia Chacón Barrantes is a tenured professor at the Physics Department of the National University, Costa Rica. She is the coordinator and founder of the SINAMOT Program (acting as National Tsunami Warning Center for Costa Rica) and has been the country’s Tsunami National Contact since 2015. She has been involved since 2014 in the IOC-UNESCO Tsunami Program as Chair of the Regional Working Group for Central America of the ICG/PTWS (2017-2021) and Chair of the ICG/CARIBE-EWS (2018-2022). She leads a project developing tsunami evacuation maps in Costa Rica and internationally and led the Tsunami Ready recognition of four communities in Costa Rica. She was recognized as one of the 100 most powerful women in Central America by Forbes for 2019, 2020 and 2021. She holds a PhD in coastal geosciences from Kiel University (Germany), a master’s degree in physical oceanography from CICESE (Mexico) and a bachelor’s in physics from the University of Costa Rica.

 

Professor Dato’ Dr. Nor Aieni Haji Mokhtar has served in the public and academic sector since 1980, contributing significantly to Malaysia’s higher education and national capacity building. She has been working as an academic at the Universiti Teknologi Malaysia for over 30 years, teaching and carrying research in physics, hydraulics, physical modelling, data management, coastal, environmental engineering and policy studies. She served as the Director and Undersecretary at the National Oceanography Directorate, Ministry of Science Technology and Innovation in 2008-2014 and was responsible for the set-up of Malaysia’s National Oceanographic Data Center. Nor Aieni was also involved in the IOC-UNESCO Sub-Commission for the Western Pacific (WESTPAC) and invented a patented system for coastal protection: Sine Slab. Nor Aieni holds a bachelor’s degree from Binghamton University (USA), a master’s degree from University College of Swansea (UK), and a PhD from Universiti Teknologi Malaysia.

 

Vidar Helgesen is Executive Director of the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. An international lawyer by training, he has held several public positions in the Norwegian government, most recently as Special Representative for the Ocean. He led the Group of Sherpas for the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy 2018-2020. He has been Minister of Climate and Environment, Minister of European Affairs and Chief of Staff to the Prime Minister, as well as Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs. He has served as Co-chair of the China Council for International Cooperation on Environment and Development, Secretary-General of the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance and Special Advisor to the President of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies. He is a Board member of CICERO Center for International Climate Research, Norfund and C4IR Ocean.

 

Professor Gideon Henderson is Chief Scientific Adviser at the Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra, UK), responsible for overseeing the quality of evidence that the Department relies on for policy decisions. He also provides ministers with scientific advice and sets the priorities for scientific research and evidence-gathering. He has been Professor of Earth Sciences at the Department of Earth Sciences in the University of Oxford since 2006. He is also a Senior Research Fellow at University College, Oxford and an Adjunct Associate Research Scientist at the Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University. His awards include the 30th Annual Plymouth Marine Science Medal 2016, European Union of Geosciences outstanding young scientist award in 2001, and the Leverhulme Prize Fellowship in 2001. In 2013, he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society.

 

Charlotte Hudson is the Project Director of the Lenfest Ocean Program, a scientific grant-making program based at The Pew Charitable Trusts (Washington, D.C., USA), that funds research projects that address the needs of marine and coastal stakeholders and supports grantees to engage with the people most likely to use the results. She is responsible for identifying thematic areas of research and overseeing the design and implementation of research projects that include purposeful engagement with those who might use the research. She also oversees the engagement with and communication of research results in ways that inform policy decisions and promote the sustainable management of the ocean. Hudson has co-authored many papers on the role of science, philanthropy and policy in decision-making. She received a bachelor’s degree in biology from Davidson College and a master’s degree in environmental management from the Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke University.

 

Dr. James Gitundu Kairo is a Pew Fellow (2019) and Chief Scientist at the Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute, where he heads a dedicated team working on mangroves and associated blue carbon ecosystem. Kairo is a member of the International Scientific Working Group on Blue Carbon (Blue Carbon Initiative) and served as the coordinating lead author of the IPCC’s Special Report on the Ocean and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate (SROCC).

 

Dr. Margaret Leinen is the Director of Scripps Institution of Oceanography and Vice Chancellor for Marine Science of University of California at San Diego (USA). She is an ocean biogeochemist and paleoceanographer whose research includes study of ocean carbon cycling and the role of the ocean in climate. She served as Assistant Director for Geosciences, US National Science Foundation from 2000-2007. While there, Leinen was co-chair of the inaugural Subcommittee on Ocean Science and Technology, and was chair and vice-chair of the US Global Change Research Program. During 2017 and 2018, she was a US Department of State Science Envoy for the Oceans to Latin America and the Pacific. Internationally, she has served on many scientific advisory boards and committees. She served as the President of the American Geophysical Union, President of the Oceanography Society and chair of the AAAS Section on Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences.

 

Angelique Pouponneau is a lawyer (Seychelles and UK). She holds an LLM in Environmental Law; specializing in the law of the sea and natural resources law. Angelique is also a trained climate change negotiator under the AOSIS Climate Change Fellowship Programme at the United Nations. She has worked in different countries in the Caribbean, Pacific and the Indian Ocean on a wide range of projects relating to sustainable fisheries, sustainable management of marine biodiversity within and beyond national jurisdiction, and climate change, in particular climate adaptation and climate finance. Further, she served as a legal expert of the African Group of Sixth Committee in works of oceans and law of the sea at the United Nations. Moreover, Angelique has experience working with civil society as a co-founder and board member for not-for-profit organizations in Seychelles and abroad.

 

Dr. Bente Pretlove is the Programme Director for Ocean Space in DNV (Norway). In this role, she manages DNV’s research efforts related to the sustainable development of ocean-based industries. Bente has more than 20 years’ experience in climate change, sustainability and environmental management in combination with technology and innovation. She focuses on systemic thinking and cross-disciplinary collaboration and frequently works at the interface between research and industry. She has held leading roles and engaged closely with different industry sectors: NGOs, UN organisations and governments. She serves as an expert and industry representative in a number of different organisations and committees. Amongst others, she is an appointed Member of the Norwegian National Committee for the Ocean Decade and Vice Chair for Blue Growth in the EU Waterborne Technology Platform. Bente is also the DNV representative in the UN Global Compact (UNGC) Ocean Stewardship Coalition.

 

Dr. Fangli Qiao, Academician at the International Eurasian Academy of Sciences and editor-in-chief of Ocean Modelling, is the Chair Professor of Physical Oceanography and the Deputy Director General of the First Institute of Oceanography (FIO), Ministry of Natural Resources of China. His research interests cover ocean and climate model development, ocean dynamics, turbulence and air-sea interaction. He established the non-breaking surface wave-induced mixing (Bv) theory and discovered the Bv generation mechanism through wave-turbulence interaction. He developed the first-ever new generation of fully coupled surface wave-tide-circulation ocean model (FIO-COM) as well as the coupled atmosphere-ocean-wave typhoon/hurricane model (FIO-AOW). Dr. Qiao was member of the Ocean Decade’s Executive Planning Group and then Decade Advisory Board; he is also co-chair of IOC/WESTPAC. He has received numerous academic awards and has over 380 publications in peer-review scientific journals.

 

Dr. Katy Soapi is the Coordinator for the Pacific Community Centre for Ocean Science at the Pacific Community (SPC, New Caledonia). Before that, she was the Manager of the Pacific Natural Products Research Centre at the University of the South Pacific (USP) in Fiji. She has worked with Pacific Island governments to assist with the development of guidelines and policy on access and benefit sharing. Katy is an adviser on marine genetic resources supporting Pacific Island countries on marine biodiversity in areas beyond national jurisdiction (BBNJ) process at the UN. Katy is passionate about developing the capacity of early career ocean professionals and is also active at the community level. Katy holds a bachelor’s degree from USP, a master’s from the University of Sydney, Australia, and a PhD from the University of East Anglia, UK. She grew up on the island of Rendova, Solomon Islands.

 

Dr. Alexander Turra is a professor at the Oceanographic Institute of the University of São Paulo (IOUSP, Brazil) and coordinator of the UNESCO Chair on Ocean Sustainability, based at the Oceanographic Institute and the Institute of Advanced Studies at the University of São Paulo. He is a biologist that exercises interdisciplinary and integrated research, focusing on themes such as marine biodiversity, governance, integrated management, marine conservation, environmental impact assessment, climate change and marine pollution (marine litter). Turra seeks to promote the integration between science and society, policy makers and the private sector to support public policies and technological development and innovation applied to the ocean.

 
 

Would you like to interact with experts engaged in the Ocean Decade?