未来的北极移动性。通过对冰雪变化的气候观测和模型预测,为交通适应提供信息(未来的北极运动)。

未来的北极移动性。通过对冰雪变化的气候观测和模型预测,为交通适应提供信息(未来的北极运动)。

未来的北极移动性。通过对冰雪变化的气候观测和模型预测,为交通适应提供信息(未来的北极运动)。 370 200 海洋十年

牵头机构:

约克大学 - 加拿大

分布在加拿大北极地区的沿海和内陆社区依赖于安全、便捷和负担得起的交通路线来支持地区经济发展,并巩固可持续生计、文化和食品安全。在冬季,运输需要海冰、淡水冰和雪足够厚,以承受雪地车和卡车的重量。在夏季,海洋中的航道和港口需要有足够的海冰,以保证安全的航运活动。

气候变化已经减少了北极地区冰冻层的持续时间、范围和厚度,包括海冰、湖泊和河流的淡水冰以及雪层。这种可靠和安全的运输条件的丧失对北极地区的流动性有直接影响,包括海洋和陆路。在这个项目中,我们的目标是预测在全球变暖的情况下,比工业化前(1850-1900年)时期高出1-4ºC的合适的海上航道和陆上冬季小路和冰路的可用性。我们已经组建了一个强大的跨学科团队,为当地社区开发气候流动性预测,以便更好地为当地适应工作提供信息。

最终,我们的目标是在加拿大北极地区的区域和社区层面上提供关键冰冻圈变量(雪、淡水冰、海冰)及其驱动因素(温度、降水)的气候模型预测,可用于更好地了解影响、风险和可用的适应方案,以支持当地和区域海洋和陆地的安全移动。

牵头联系人:Sapna Sharma(sapna.sharma23@gmail.com; sharma11@yorku.ca)

挑战:5- 海洋与气候的联系,8- 海洋的数字化呈现,9- 能力发展
行动类型:项目

海洋十年

我们需要的科学,我们想要的海洋

取得联系

下一个活动

订阅我们的通讯

机会

加入 #海洋十年

隐私偏好

当您访问我们的网站时,网站可能会通过您的浏览器存储来自特定服务的信息,通常以 Cookie 的形式存储。您可以在此更改您的隐私偏好。值得注意的是,阻止某些类型的 cookie 可能会影响您在我们网站上的体验以及我们能够提供的服务。

出于性能和安全考虑,我们使用 Cloudflare
所需

在浏览器中启用/禁用 Google Analytics 跟踪代码

在浏览器中启用/禁用 Google 字体

在浏览器中启用/禁用嵌入视频

隐私政策

我们的网站使用 cookie,主要来自第三方服务。请确定您的隐私偏好和/或同意我们使用 cookie。

Actions

Meet all the endorsed Ocean Decade Actions

Future Arctic Mobilities: Informing transportation adaptation through climate observations and model projections of changing snow and ice (Future Arctic Mobilities)

York University

Arctic Ocean, Create a digital representation of the Ocean, Increase community resilience to ocean hazards, Project, Skills, knowledge and technology for all, Unlock ocean-based solutions to climate change

The coastal and inland communities distributed across the Canadian Arctic depend on safe, accessible, and affordable transportation routes to support regional economic development, and to underpin sustainable livelihoods, culture, and food security. In the winter, transportation requires sea ice, freshwater ice, and snow to be thick enough to sustain the weight of snowmobiles and trucks. In the summer, navigational routes and harbours in the ocean need to be sufficiently free of sea ice to permit safe shipping activity.

Climate change has decreased the duration, extent, and thickness of the cryosphere in the Arctic, including sea ice, freshwater ice on lakes and rivers, and snow cover. This loss of reliable, and safe transportation conditions has direct implications for mobility in the Arctic, both marine and overland. In this project, we aim to forecast the availability of suitable marine shipping routes and overland winter trails and ice roads under global warming scenarios of 1-4ºC above pre-industrial (1850-1900) times. We have assembled a strong transdisciplinary team to develop climate mobility projections for local communities, in order to better inform local adaptation efforts.

Ultimately, our goal is to provide climate model projections of key cryosphere variables (snow, freshwater ice, sea ice) and their drivers (temperature, precipitation) at the regional and community-level scales across the Canadian Arctic that can be used to better understand the impacts, risks, and adaptation options available to support safe local and regional marine and overland mobilities.

Contact: Sapna Sharma | Email: sapna.sharma23@gmail.com; sharma11@yorku.ca